The Best Player in 2023: Lionel Messi Takes the Crown

FIFA  The Best Player of 2023 Lionel Messi

A panel of experts gathered to discuss FIFA’s best player of 2023. The announcement revealed that Lionel Messi had been crowned the best player according to a series of voters that included captains and coaches of national teams, as well as the media and fans. However, it’s important to note that this competition did not include the World Cup, and only considered the period from the day the World Cup finished to August 20th. Messi’s move from PSG to MLS during this period raised questions, but ultimately, his performance and achievements in 2023 were enough to secure the title

FIFA  The Best Player of 2023 Lionel Messi 

Messi’s Achievements in 2023

While some may argue that Messi’s move to Major League Soccer in the US diminished his impact, it’s essential to recognize his accomplishments during this period. Notably, Messi won the US Open Cup and the League Cup. These victories solidified his position as a top player and contributed to his overall success in 2023.

Mbappe and Holland: Worthy Competitors

Of course, there were other players who could have contended for the title. Kylian Mbappe and Erling Holland had exceptional performances throughout the year. Mbappe’s skills and contributions to the game cannot be overlooked. Similarly, Holland’s performances were outstanding, and he won the LW award. However, in this particular competition, Messi emerged as the best player, surpassing his fellow competitors.

Debating the Results

It’s not uncommon for fans, experts, and players themselves to debate the outcome of such awards. Some may disagree with Messi’s victory and argue that other players deserved the title. However, it’s essential to remember that the decision was made by a diverse group of voters who had their perspectives and criteria. The fact that Lionel Messi received the most first-place votes among international captains played a significant role in his win.

FIFA  The Best Player of 2023 Lionel Messi 

The Best 11 and Questionable Inclusions

In addition to the best player award, FIFA also revealed the best 11, which raised eyebrows for some. One of the questionable inclusions was Jude Bingham, who had only played one exceptional game for Real Madrid before the voting period ended. This decision sparked debate and led some to question the validity of the best 11 selection process.

Awards in Other Categories

Aside from the main awards, FIFA also recognized other notable individuals worldwide. Pep Guardiola was named Coach of the Year, showcasing his outstanding leadership abilities. Serena Wagman, a talented women’s player, received the title of Women’s Player of the Year. The women’s Coach of the Year award went to England’s coach, acknowledging their exceptional performance as a team. Mary Herbs was recognized as the best women’s goalkeeper, while Edison received the title of best goalkeeper.


While debates may continue regarding the FIFA Best Player of 2023, it’s crucial to respect the decisions made by the voters. Lionel Messi’s achievements, including his victories in the US Open Cup and Leagues Cup, solidified his claim to the title.

The inclusion of other talented players like Mbappe and Holland further highlights the level of competition in the football world. Regardless of personal opinions, Messi’s win demonstrates his exceptional skills and impact on the game in 2023.

More news

Leave Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *